Useless ID Release ‘Most Useless Songs’ Compilation

  • Phinky posted
  • News

There’s something inherently futile about creating “best of” albums, which feels more futile the longer a band has been together. How do you accurately capture a band’s evolution, what makes them special? Maybe you don’t overthink it and just look at a setlist. That’s kind of what Useless ID have done. The Israeli punks have been together since 1994, releasing eight full-lengths and a slew of EPs, singles, and compilations. That’s a staggering number of songs to pare down into some kind of “definitive” portrait of the band.

Most Useless Songs reaches as far back as the 1999 Fat Wreck Chords compilation Short Music For Short People, but otherwise draws from the band’s 2000s output, such as 2003’s No Vacation from the World, 2005’s Redemption, 2008’s The Lost Broken Bones, 2012’s Symptoms and 2016’s State is Burning. The liner notes feature commentary about all 16 tracks from Useless ID, which also includes guitarist Ishay Berger, guitarist Guy Carmel, and drummer Corey Ben Yehuda.

That sound continues to evolve, as shown on two new tracks exclusive to Most Useless Songs: the soaring, hopeful Same Old Revolution and Into The Exquisite, a blistering track that’s classic Useless ID. “When we recorded the new songs for the ‘best of,’ we were reminded how much fun we have making music together,” Ben-Horin says. That means more new material in the near future, but in the meantime, Most Useless Songs captures the evolution of, and what’s so special about Useless ID.

Most Useless Songs is now available via digital platforms and Fat Wreck Chords