Dan Vapid & The Cheats Share “Sour Pauline” & Announce “Welcome To Dystopia” Album

  • Phinky posted
  • News

Dan Vapid And The Cheats are set to release their fifth full-length album, Welcome to Dystopia, on Friday, September 23rd. It’s an unfiltered return to punk and rock ‘n roll basics that packs a powerful punch. The songs focus on the pandemic, malignant narcissism, the rise of conspiracy theories, isolation, and unhealthy discourse on social media. Welcome To Dystopia will be available for pre-order on the 16th September on vinyl and CD via Eccentric Pop Records and cassette tape later this year via Memorable But Not Honorable Tapes. Today the band have revealed the album’s lead single, Sour Pauline.

“I try my best to see the good when I can, but as a society we have reached a turning point and it isn’t good. Many of the songs on ‘Welcome to Dystopia’ reflect that. 2020 was the most surreal year I’ve seen in my lifetime. I hadn’t had that ‘holy fucking shit’ moment since 9/11/2001, even Rod Serling couldn’t have made the 2020 episode of the ‘Twilight Zone’ if he had tried.” (Dan Vapid)

The band features singer, songwriter, and guitarist Dan Vapid, a veteran of the punk scene who has played in influential bands such as Screeching Weasel, The Riverdales, Sludgeworth, The Methadones, Noise By Numbers, The Mopes and The Queers. The current lineup also features Simon Lamb (guitars / vocals), Dillon Dunnagan (bass / vocals), and Gabe Usery (drums / vocals). The band will be appearing at The Fest on the 29th October and at Chicago’s Cobra Lounge on the 19th November alongside The Methadones, The Copyrights & Mikey Erg.