The Mahones’ Finny McConnell Releases Debut Solo Album “The Dark Streets Of Love”

  • Phinky posted
  • News

After three decades leading renowned Celtic punk rockers, The Mahones, founder and band leader Finny McConnell has released his debut solo album, The Dark Streets of Love, via True North Records. The album is a collection of his most intimate musings to date, The Dark Streets of Love is McConnell’s love letter to everyone important in his world. Stripped bare with personal lyrics that represent not only his truth, but a truth we can all relate to. The eleven track album includes covers of songs by Bruce Springsteen, The Tragically Hip, Lou Reed, Shane McGowan, and even an outtake from an earlier release by The Mahones, all of which hold deep meaning to the veteran artist. 

With The Mahones, McConnell has unleashed more than twenty albums to the masses, and shared the stage with the likes of Dropkick Murphys, Shane MacGowan, Stiff Little Fingers, Billy Bragg, Buzzcocks, The Damned, and more. Born in Dublin, Ireland, and based in Kingston, Ontario, Finny McConnell‘s first solo album is its own homecoming, to himself. Mixed and engineered by Gene Hughes, this live-off-the-floor release is a rare peek behind the curtain to McConnell’s expansive emotional atmosphere; intricately layered reflections on loving, losing, grieving, and loving again peel away, song by song, one of punk’s most notorious leaders and his distinct point of view. 

You can stream and purchase The Dark Streets of Love via digital platforms and True North Records here