Craig Finn Announce New Album, New Single

  • Bobby Gorman posted
  • News

Craig FinnCraig Finn, legendary front man of The Hold Steady has announced plans for his fifth solo album, A Legacy of Rentals.

The album will be released on Friday, May 20th through Positive Jams / Thirty Tigers and will be available on CD, standard vinyl, and limited-edition white vinyl (online orders only). Pre-orders and pre-saves are available now right here.


The album was recorded in May 2021 with Finn’s longtime collaborators, producer Josh Kaufman and engineer D. James Goodwin. The first song, Messing With The Settings,” can be heard below. Finn discussed the song saying:

“Memory is a major theme through A Legacy of Rentals and I wanted the first song on the record to open on that note. This song is literally a eulogy. It’s delivered by someone who has lost touch with the recently deceased, but still finds them important. Musically, it really explores the line between talking and singing, which was something we leaned into on this record. We wanted to make this song an incantation of sorts. It also features the beautiful 14-piece string section that played on a lot of these songs. I wanted to it have a cinematic feel, like Gone With The Wind or something like that.”

Craig Finn – A Legacy of Rentals tracklist:

  1. Messing With The Settings
  2. The Amarillo Kid
  3. Birthdays
  4. The Year We Fell Behind
  5. Due To Depart
  6. Curtis & Shepard
  7. Never Any Horses
  8. Jessamine
  9. A Break From The Barrage
  10. This Is What It Looks Like