Fightmilk Announce Sophomore Album ‘Contender’

  • Phinky posted
  • News

Following delays due to COVID-19, London’s Fightmilk have announced that their forthcoming sophomore album “Contender” is finally going to be released on the 14th May via Reckless Yes on ‘cream/smoked’ vinyl, ‘lucky dip’ eco vinyl, CD, and digital formats. The band also recently revealed the first taste of the record with AA side lead single ‘If You Had A Sister…‘ / ‘I’m Starting To Think You Don’t Even Want To Go To Space‘ which is now available to stream on all good digital platforms. Tour plans may remain on hold for the time being but “Contender” can wait no longer.

Contender” can be pre-ordered, pre-added and pre-saved here

You can read more about “Contender” and view the track listing below

While the band planned to take their time crafting forthcoming second album ‘Contender‘, they hadn’t factored in a global pandemic and the delays it would cause. Marking a maturing of their sound the record also sees a step-change in their writing and recording, as they welcomed new member Healey (formerly of Wolf Girl) on bass, and took a more collaborative approach than past efforts.

Like the writing process, recording also took more time, again thanks to Covid-19. Recorded in two sessions a year apart at Dean Street Studios in London, the band saw plans for a UK tour suddenly pulled as the release of the first single from the record, ‘I’m Starting To Think You Don’t Even Want To Go To Space’, coincided with the first lockdown in March 2020.

“Contender” Tracklist
1. (contender)
2. Lucky Coin
3. Hey Annabelle!
4. I’m Starting To Think You Don’t Even Want To Go To Space
5. The Absolute State Of Me
6. Girls Don’t Want To Have Fun
7. Cool Cool Girl
8. (tender)
9. Banger #4
10. If You Had A Sister…
11. You Are Not The Universe
12. Maybe
13. (bartender)
14. Overbite